Akins Rhett Song Lyrics

Genre: Country

Akins Rhett Albums

Akins Rhett Bio

Thomas Rhett Akins Sr. (born October 13, 1969) is an American country singer and songwriter. Signed to Decca Records between 1994 and 1997, he released two albums for the label (1995's A Thousand Memories and 1996's Somebody New), followed by 1998's What Livin's All About on MCA Nashville. Friday Night in Dixie was released in 2002 on Audium Entertainment. Overall, Akins's albums have accounted for fourteen singles on the Billboard country singles charts, including the Number One "Don't Get Me Started" from 1996.

Although he has not charted a single since 2006, Akins has written singles for other country music singers, including four Number One songs, "Gimmie That Girl" by Joe Nichols, "All About Tonight" and "Honey Bee" by Blake Shelton and "All Over Me" by Josh Turner. He has also written singles recorded by Brooks & Dunn, Jack Ingram, Rodney Atkins, and country-rap artist Colt Ford.

Rhett Akins was born on October 13, 1969, in Valdosta, Georgia. By age eleven, he and his two younger brothers had formed a band. Rhett attended University of Georgia and studied business but gave up his studies after a year. He then worked for his father’s oil and gas distribution company. In 1992, after performing in the theme park show "Music Country Music" at Fiesta Texas in San Antonio, Texas, Akins moved to Nashville, Tennessee, first working as a demo singer before Decca Records signed him to a recording contract.

In the Know


All Music News »